Loading Events
This event has passed.

This year is the 75th anniversary of the United Nations, and we are marking the occasion with a Webdebate on the past and the future of the organisation.

By looking back at the past 75 years of the world organisation, we will try to answer an important question: Are we seeing an evolution or a revolution in some of the key UN topics and how they are addressed?

The past 75 years vs the last 7.5 months: The need to respond to COVID-19 and the tremendous impact the crisis had on almost all aspects of life around the world, highlighted the crucial importance of the UN. To what extent are the past 75 years reflected in the past 7.5 months?

Our discussion will focus on three core pillars of the UN: peace and security, human rights, and sustainable development. We will also explore how these three pillars are increasingly connected via the emerging theme of digital co-operation.

Questions around peace and security, and human rights, have been with the organisation from its inception, while sustainable development and digital co-operation are more recent topics on the UN’s agenda. In each case, we look back at past developments in order to reflect on future ones. Are we witnessing an evolution or a revolution, and how have the past 7.5 months further shaped these topics?

Join us on Tuesday, 1st September, at 12:00 UTC (08:00 EDT | 14:00 CEST | 20:00 CST). To attend, please register below.

Registrations are open

Register

Speakers

Dr Jovan Kurbalija – Executive Director, DiploFoundation | Head, Geneva Internet Platform (GIP) | former Executive Director of the Secretariat of the UN High-level Panel on Digital Cooperation (2018-19)

Mr Marc Limon – Executive Director, Universal Rights Group (URG) | diplomat at the UN Human Rights Council between (2006 – 2012)

Ambassador Asoke Mukerji – India’s ambassador and permanent representative to the UN in New York from 2013 to 2015

Ms Irena Zubčević – Chief, Intergovernmental Policy and Review Branch, Office of Intergovernmental Support and Coordination for Sustainable Development, UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Moderator

Dr Katharina Höne – Senior Researcher and Lecturer, DiploFoundation

About our WebDebates

Our WebDebates on the future of diplomacy are live streamed on the first Tuesday of every month. They are organised by DiploFoundation within the framework of the International Forum on Diplomatic Training (IFDT). Learn more about our series of WebDebates.

If you form part of a dynamic circle of practitioners in your community, we encourage you to establish a diplomatic hub to follow the WebDebates and to facilitate discussions. For more information, contact Diplo’s Ms Mina Mudrić.

Register