Loading Events
This event has passed.

High-level Panel Discussion

The role of the Human Rights Council in promoting
a human rights-based approach to new and emerging technologies

Tuesday, 15th June 2021

 9am EDT (13:00 UTC | 15:00 CEST | 21:00 CST)

Co-organizer: Core Group on new technologies (South Korea, Austria, Brazil, Denmark, Morocco, Singapore); OHCHR

Registrations are open

Register

In his “Call for Action on Human Rights”, UN Secretary-General Guterres identified new and emerging technologies as a new frontier for human rights. He called for the development of a human rights-based for the digital space, following-up on the recommendations of the High-Level Panel on Digital Cooperation. Within the framework of the Human Rights Council and its special mechanisms, numerous resolutions, publications, and recommendations have emerged in recent years addressing the impact of new technologies on specific rights (right to privacy, freedom of association, freedom of expression, children’s rights, economic/social/cultural rights). In 2019, the HRC adopted a resolution tasking its Advisory Committee to develop a global perspective on the issue and to identify options for action for the HRC. The report will be presented to the HRC at its 47th session in June 2021.

Register