[WebDebate #46] Unpacking the EU’s digital diplomacy and foreign policy

Online

Digital foreign policy is becoming a key topic this year. Both Switzerland and Denmark have just recently launched their digital foreign policy strategies (for an overview of digital foreign policy strategies, visit our Digital Foreign Policy page). Yet, it is also abundantly clear that the range of relevant actors in digital foreign policy goes beyond [...]

May 2021 online courses

Online

Online courses starting May 2021Diplo is offering three interactive postgraduate-level online courses starting the week of 10 May 2021:•    21st Century Diplomacy•    Diplomacy of Small States•    E-diplomacyFor more information on each course please click on the titles above. These online courses are available as Diplo Certificate Courses (application deadline: 5 April 2021) and University of Malta [...]

[Briefing #76] Internet governance in June 2021

Online

Join us for this month’s Digital Watch Internet Governance Briefing on Tuesday, 29th June, at 8am EDT (14.00 CEST). Catch up on the major internet governance and digital policy updates from all around the globe and join our experts as they analyse the existing and emerging policy trends. Registrations are openRegister Register below and join the Digital Watch [...]

[WebDebate #48] Virtual and hybrid diplomacy: What have we learned?

Online

In light of social distancing and lockdowns due to the COVID-19 pandemic, diplomatic practice had to adapt. Overall, diplomacy has proven remarkably resilient. Videoconferencing and other means of digital communication have ensured continuity of diplomatic practice and negotiations. Hybrid (blended) forms of diplomacy that combine in-situ and virtual attendance at meetings have emerged as [...]

The role of the Human Rights Council in promoting a human rights-based approach to new and emerging technologies

Online

High-level Panel Discussion The role of the Human Rights Council in promoting a human rights-based approach to new and emerging technologies Tuesday, 15th June 2021  9am EDT (13:00 UTC | 15:00 CEST | 21:00 CST) Co-organizer: Core Group on new technologies (South Korea, Austria, Brazil, Denmark, Morocco, Singapore); OHCHR Registrations are open Register [...]

Renaissance diplomacy: Compromise as a solution to conflict [A historical journey #6]

Online

A masterclass with Jovan Kurbalija Diplomacy and technology: A historical journey #6 Renaissance diplomacy: Compromise as a solution to conflict 08:00 EDT (12:00 UTC | 14:00 CEST | 20:00 CST) Registrations are open Register Join us in our next journey through the history of diplomacy and technology. In June, we will look at Renaissance diplomacy, [...]

[Briefing #76] Internet governance in June 2021

Online

Join us for this month’s Digital Watch Internet Governance Briefing on Tuesday, 29th June, at 8.00 EDT (14.00 CEST). Catch up on the major internet governance and digital policy updates from all around the globe and join our experts as they analyse the existing and emerging policy trends. Registrations are open Register Register below and join the Digital [...]

July 2021 online courses

Online

Online courses starting July 2021 DiploFoundation offers four interactive postgraduate-level online courses, starting the week of 26 July 2021: 21st Century Diplomacy Diplomatic Law: Privileges and Immunities Internet Technology and Policy: Challenges and Solutions Multilateral Diplomacy For more information on each course please click the course title above. Apply by 24 May 2021 for University of Malta accredited courses and [...]

Data economy: human-centric approach at the forefront

Online

The European Delegation to the United Nations in Geneva, the Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the UN in Geneva, the Permanent Mission of Slovenia to the UN Office and other international organisations in Geneva in capacity as Presidency of the Council of the EU, and the Geneva Internet Platform invite you to a series [...]

Digital (and) Diplomacy: What Are We Actually Talking About?

Online

Digital (and) Diplomacy:What Are We Actually Talking About?Tuesday, 7th September08:00–10:00 EDT (14:00–16:00 CEST)When we talk about digital (and) diplomacy, what are we actually talking about?Diplomats, academics, and journalists worldwide have been asking this question for over two decades. For some, it’s about negotiating cybersecurity agreements, for others, it’s digital geopolitics, the use of artificial intelligence (AI), or the flow of data. [...]